Nobel Prize winners in 1976

The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards granted in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural, or scientific advances. The will of the Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel established the five Nobel prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901. Today, the prize is awarded for Outstanding contributions to humanity in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics.

The Nobel Prize for Physics in 1976

Burton Richter and Samuel Chao Chung Ting – for their pioneering work in the discovery of a heavy elementary particle of a new kind

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1976

William N. Lipscomb – for his studies on the structure of boranes illuminating problems of chemical bonding

The Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1976

Baruch S. Blumberg and D. Carleton Gajdusek – for their discoveries concerning new mechanisms for the origin and dissemination of infectious diseases

The Nobel Prize for Literature in 1976

Saul Bellow – for the human understanding and subtle analysis of contemporary culture that are combined in his work

The Nobel Peace Prize in 1976

Betty Williams and  Mairead Corrigan

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 1976

Milton Friedman – for his achievements in the fields of consumption analysis, monetary history and theory and for his demonstration of the complexity of stabilization policy

Share and Subscribe SAR Publisher. Leave your queries in the comment section below.

Source: All Nobel Prizes.

Previous articleNobel Prize winners in 1928
Next articleNobel Prize winners in 1944
Author and Assistant Professor in Finance, Ardent fan of Arsenal FC. Always believe "The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance - Socrates"
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments