Nobel Prize winners in 1928

The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards granted in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural, or scientific advances. The will of the Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel established the five Nobel prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901. Today, the prize is awarded for Outstanding contributions to humanity in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics.

The Nobel Prize for Physics in 1928

Owen Willans Richardson –  for his work on the thermionic phenomenon and especially for the discovery of the law named after him.

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1928

Adolf Otto Reinhold Windaus –  for the services rendered through his research into the constitution of the sterols and their connection with the vitamins.

The Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1928

Charles Jules Henri Nicolle –  for his work on typhus.

The Nobel Prize for Literature in 1928

Sigrid Undset – principally for her powerful descriptions of Northern life during the Middle Ages.

The Nobel Peace Prize in 1928

No Nobel Prize was awarded this year. The prize money was allocated to the Special Fund of this prize section.

Share and Subscribe SAR Publisher. Leave your queries in the comment section below.

Source: All Nobel Prizes.

Previous articleNobel Prize winners in 1990
Next articleNobel Prize winners in 1976
A.Sulthan, Ph.D.,
Author and Assistant Professor in Finance, Ardent fan of Arsenal FC. Always believe "The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance - Socrates"
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments