Nobel Prize winners in 2018

The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards granted in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural, or scientific advances. The will of the Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel established the five Nobel prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901. Today, the prize is awarded for Outstanding contributions to humanity in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics.

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2018

James P. Allison and Tasuku Honjo – for their discovery of cancer therapy by inhibition of negative immune regulation.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018

Arthur Ashkin – for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems.

Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland – for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018

Frances H. Arnold – for the directed evolution of enzymes

George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter – for the phage display of peptides and antibodies

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2018

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature has been postponed.

The Nobel Peace Prize 2018

Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad – for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2018

William D. Nordhaus – for integrating climate change into long-run macroeconomic analysis.

Paul M. Romer – for integrating technological innovations into long-run macroeconomic analysis

Share and Subscribe SAR Publisher. Leave your queries in the comment section below.

Source: All Nobel Prizes.

Previous articleCommon Knowledge and General Knowledge Series #38
Next articleNobel Prize winners in 2015
Author and Assistant Professor in Finance, Ardent fan of Arsenal FC. Always believe "The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance - Socrates"
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments