Facts about Bank of Calcutta

  • Bank of Calcutta was founded on 2 June 1806, mainly to fund General Wellesley’s wars against Tipu Sultan and the Marathas.
  • It was the first bank of India and was renamed Bank of Bengal on 2 January 1809.
  • The bank opened branches at Rangoon (1861), Patna (1862), Mirzapur (1862), and Benares (1862).
  • Among the bank’s renowned customers were, scholar and politician Dadabhai Naoroji, scientist Jagadish Chandra Bose, India’s first President Rajendra Prasad, Nobel laureate Rabindranath Tagore and educationist Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar.
  • The bank was risk averse and would not lend for more than three months.
  • The Bank of Calcutta, and the two other Presidency banks — the Bank of Bombay and the Bank of Madras — amalgamated on 27 January 1921 and the reorganized banking entity assumed the name Imperial Bank of India.
Previous articleFacts about Imperial Bank of India
Next articleFacts about Bank of Bombay
A.Sulthan, Ph.D.,
Author and Assistant Professor in Finance, Ardent fan of Arsenal FC. Always believe "The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance - Socrates"
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments