Facts about Bank of Bombay

  • Bank of Bombay was the second of the three presidency banks (others being the Bank of Calcutta and the Bank of Madras) of the Raj period.
  • It was established, pursuant to a charter of the British East India Company, on 15 April 1840.
  • The bank’s headquarters were in Bombay, now called Mumbai.
  • The Bank of Bombay, in the absence of any central banking authority at that time, also conducted certain functions which are ordinarily a preserve of a central bank.
  • The Bank of Bombay and two other Presidency banks – the Bank of Calcutta and the Bank of Madras – were amalgamated and the reorganized banking entity was named the Imperial Bank of India on 27 January 1921.
Previous articleFacts about Bank of Calcutta
Next articleFacts about Bank of Madras
Author and Assistant Professor in Finance, Ardent fan of Arsenal FC. Always believe "The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance - Socrates"
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments