What is IFSC code?

Indian Financial System Code, commonly known as IFSC code is an 11-digit alpha-numeric code that uniquely identifies a bank-branch regulated by Reserve Bank of India.

This code is used by electronic payment system applications such as real-time gross settlement (RTGS), NEFT and Centralised Funds Management System (CFMS). It is mandatory for fund transfers from one bank account to another. Every bank branch will have a unique code and no two branches, even of the same bank will ever be the same.

In an IFSC code, the first 4 digits of the IFSC represent the bank and last 6 characters represent the branch. The 5th character is zero.

Example of IFSC

For HDFC Bank 11-digit IFSC code, the first four letters will be ‘HDFC’, and the last 6 digits will represent specific branch code. For example, the IFSC code of the HDFC Bank, Kangeyam branch isĀ  HDFC0002190. Here, 002190 is the branch code.

Previous articleList of Classical Folk and Tribal Dances in India
Next articleWhat is Monopoly? Definition and Meaning of Monopoly
Author and Assistant Professor in Finance, Ardent fan of Arsenal FC. Always believe "The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance - Socrates"
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments