Nobel Prize winners in 1902

The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards granted in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural, or scientific advances. The will of the Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel established the five Nobel prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901. Today, the prize is awarded for Outstanding contributions to humanity in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine and Economics.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1902

Hendrik Antoon Lorentz and Pieter Zeeman – “in recognition of the extraordinary service they rendered by their researches into the influence of magnetism upon radiation phenomena”

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1902

Hermann Emil Fischer – “in recognition of the extraordinary services he has rendered by his work on sugar and purine syntheses”

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1902

Ronald Ross – “for his work on malaria, by which he has shown how it enters the organism and thereby has laid the foundation for successful research on this disease and methods of combating it”

The Nobel Prize in Literature 1902

Christian Matthias Theodor Mommsen – “the greatest living master of the art of historical writing, with special reference to his monumental work, A history of Rome”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1902

Élie Ducommun

Charles Albert Gobat

Share and Subscribe SAR Publisher. Leave your queries in the comment section below.

Source: All Nobel Prizes.

Previous articleNobel Prize winners in 1901
Next articleNobel Prize winners in 1903
A.Sulthan, Ph.D.,
Author and Assistant Professor in Finance, Ardent fan of Arsenal FC. Always believe "The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance - Socrates"
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments