Measurement Scales – Nominal, Ordinal, Interval and Ratio


Measurement scales are classified popularly under four categories

  1. Interval

Let’s discuss in brief about these measurement scales before going on for some technical details. If you want to test Network of 50 smartphone users. We can begin by evaluating each on 4G – Non-4G data; this is a nominal measurement. Then the users rank the Quality from best to worst; this is an ordinal measurement. Next, the mobile users use a 5 or 7 point scale that has equal distance between points to rate the 4G network with regard to some criterion (e.g., data speed, Coverage, cost and etc.., ); this is an interval measurement. Finally, the user considers another network dimension (eg.3G) and assigns 100 points among the 50 smartphone users; this is a ratio measurement.

Note: Likert scale variables fall under Ordinal and/or Interval scale depends on the nature of the measurement.

Subscribe to my blog and share my posts with your friends. Leave your queries and feedback in the comment section.

Previous articleQuran translated in Bosnian – Kur’an prevedena na Bosanski [PDF]
Next articleBrain Drain of India – Some Statistics
Author and Assistant Professor in Finance, Ardent fan of Arsenal FC. Always believe "The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance - Socrates"
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments