Android versions and their name list


In 2003 the development of Android started by Android, Inc., and Google purchased it in 2005. The operating system is based on the Linux kernel, each version depend on certain Linux Kernal. The public release of the Android beta came on November 5, 2007. The first commercial version, Android 1.0, was released on September 23, 2008. Android is continually developed by Google and the Open Handset Alliance, and it has seen a number of updates to its base operating system since the initial release. Apart from their numeric version number, the version is released with a code-name, which is assigned by Google. These names are confectionery-themed and have been in alphabetical order since 2009’s Android 1.5 Cupcake.

Code nameVersion
NA1.023 Sept 2008
Petit Four1.12.69 Feb 2009
Cupcake1.52.6.2727 April 2009
Donut1.62.6.2915 Sep 2009
Eclair2.0 – Oct 2009
Froyo2.2 – May 2010
Gingerbread2.3 - Dec 2010
Honeycomb3.0 – Feb 2011
Ice Cream Sandwich4.0 – Oct 2011
Jelly Bean4.1 – – 3.4.39

9 July 2012
KitKat4.4 – Oct 2013
Lollipop5.0 – Nov 2014
Marshmallow6.0 – Oct 2015
Nougat7.0 – Aug 2016
Oreo8.0 – 8.14.1021 Aug 2017
Pie9.04.4.107, 4.9.84, 4.14.42 6 Aug 2018

Previous articleCommon Knowledge and General Knowledge Series #28
Next articleCommon Knowledge and General Knowledge Series #29
Author and Assistant Professor in Finance, Ardent fan of Arsenal FC. Always believe "The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance - Socrates"
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments